Portland Team Jones Captures Boatnik

Thanks to Benjie Hedgecock for this information:

8 am Quarterfinal
Roseville 12, Southern Oregon Bandits 5
WP-Doug Coulter
LP-Marcus Durbin, with Mike Trotter and Morgan Mapes in relief.

Roseville’s Doug Coulter (54 mph) holds off the up and and coming Southern Oregon Bandits 12-5. Marcus Durbin(60 mph) started for the Bandits and was relieved by 72 year old Mike Trotter (61mph) and then Morgan Mapes (57-mph)

9:30am semi-final –
Cal State Builders 3, Mock Ford 0


In the first semifinal game, Cal State Builders and Gerald Pyle(72 mph) with 11 strikeouts and giving up just 2 hits beat Mock Ford 3-0 as Corey Avery(70 mph) struck out 9 and gave up just 3 hits. Pyle and Avery are teammates during the regular season, for Rude Pac, CA.

Mock Ford takes 3rd place and Cal State Builders play in the championship game waiting for the winner of Portland’s Team Jones(Mark Bennett threw a 17 strikeout perfect game last night) and Roseville Eagles(Mike Neely pitching).

Corey Avery was selected to the All Tournament team along with the Bandits Brady Howe and Brotherton’s Stacey Morgan.

Semi-Final (underway)
Portland’s Team Jones 12, Roseville Eagles 0

WP-Mark Bennett
LP-Mike Neely.

Rob Penticoff and Mario Pereira of the Roseville Eagles were selected to the all tournament team.

Portland Team Jones 11, Cal State Builders 0

WP-Bricklen Anderson
LP-JP Peterson
HR-Rob Gehrke (Portland)

The #14 raniked Portland’s Team Jones won the 2010 Boatnik Tournament over Dave Carlton’s #34 ranked Cal State Builders 11-0. Portland put 3 up in the top of the first on a three run homer by Rob Gehrke off JP Peterson of the Builders.

Bricklen Anderson, Portland’s Open Pitcher was approved by the Cal State Team to start in the championship game. Cal State Builder’s Mark Cain got to 3rd base and Dave DeMaio to 2nd base in the first inning but were left on base.

The rest of the game went about the same until Builders Darren Strang relieved in the 3rd and shut out Portland after that. The All Final Standings & Tournament Team is listed below.

Champions Team Jones, Portland, 6-0
2nd Cal State Builders, NorCal, 5-1
3rd Mock Ford, 3-2
3rd Roseville Eagled, NorCal, 2-3
5th SO Bandits, 2-2
5th Brotherton Pipe, 2-2
7th Tule Lake Aces, NorCal, 1-3
8th A & M Transport, 1-4
9th Mock Mazda, 0-4

All Tournament Team
MVP Josh Agnew, Portland
MVPitcher Mark Bennett, Portland
All Stars
Stacey Morgan, Brotherton
Corey Avery, Mock Ford
Ron Penticoff, Roseville
Mario Pererio, Roseville
Brady Howe, SO Bandits
Brian Ree, Portland
Kevin Rasmussen, Portland
Dave DeMaio, Builders
Ty Fogerty , Builders
JP Peterson , Builders
Chris Carleton, Mock Ford

We would like to thank the following people for helping to make this a great event. Jim Flanagan of Fastpitchwest.com for superb coverage and to Al Doran of Al’s Fastball for his coverage and to Justin Sutton , field prep, Scott and Susan Stout for announcing and scorekeeping all games and selling the souvenir tshirts.

Thanks also to our tournament Committee of Troy Terry, Ken Hix, Scott McGowan and Kelly Richardson. Thanks also to Dan Martin and the Grants Pass Active Club and Dick Olsen and the City of Grants Pass and to Ken and Dwayne for a great free tournament program for the fans and to Scotty McGowan for promoting the event.

Thanks to our Umpires who were incredible, Don Postle from Sacramento, Steve Pean from Medford. and Greg Fowler from Bend and the Concession Stand workers from Hidden Valley and North Valley, Illinois Valley and Grants Pass. Also thanks to NAFA, Delp’s Awards, Discovery Inn Motel and all the program advertisers. Special thanks to the thousands of local fans and family members for making this a true spectator event and thanks to all the players and coaches for making this a fun weekend for all without much drama. And finally, thanks, of course thanks to Bricklen Anderson for giving us a little of that also.

-Benjie Hedgecock

For complete recap of scores for the Boatnik, click here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.